Quick reads

2

Forum Enoumama

Benoit Dupont
01 June 2017
The Belgian Development Cooperation invests in a project “Forum Enoumama” to promote the rights of women and girls in the frame of the She Decides movement.

 

75% of women in Benin are affected by physical and verbal violence, and maternal and newborn mortality rates remain high, in particular due to the weak decision-making power of women in terms of controlling births. With the aim of improving this situation, Belgian Technical Cooperation (BTC) has supported the implementation of the Enoumama forum. This forum brings together representatives from civil society who have been trained by BTC Benin on the various questions relating to gender.

Enoumama has led to notable results in terms of accessing decision-making bodies for women, protecting rights and combating violence against women, as well as regarding the health of mothers and children. For example, it can be seen that the participation of women in community meetings has gone from 15% to 60%, 23 women are presidents of community associations, one woman is deputy to the mayor, and two others are village heads. Another important result obtained is the introduction of a mutual fund for women to cover healthcare expenses during pregnancy and childbirth. All the pregnant women in this mutual fund have undergone prenatal consultations and have given birth in the health centre.

"Before, if my wife or my children became ill, I didn't worry too much about it. I asked my wife to look for some herbal teas to cure the illness. But one day, I attended an awareness-raising session by the members of Enoumama on the health of mothers and children, and that changed the way I looked at things. That's why, today, the good health of my wife and children is also my own good health, and I am proud to take on this responsibility. Since we do not earn much to take care of our children, we solicited the services of a midwife, and incorporated a family planning method" explains an inhabitant from Agatogbo, in the municipality of Comè.

 

She decides Benin Women's rights Women
Next article Christmas in the maternity clinic

Lecture rapide

Forum Enoumama

Benoit Dupont
01 juin 2017
La Coopération belge au Développement a investi au Bénin dans le projet « Forum Enoumama », réalisé dans le cadre du mouvement She Decides, qui vise à promouvoir les droits des femmes et des filles.

 

75% des femmes au Bénin sont touchées par des faits de violences verbale et physique. Le taux de mortalité maternelle et des nouveaux nés y reste élevé, notamment à cause du faible pouvoir décisionnel des femmes en matière de contrôle des naissances. Partant de ce constat, la Coopération technique belge (CTB) a soutenu la mise en place du forum Enoumama. Ce dernier rassemble les représentants de la société civile ayant été formés par la CTB Bénin sur les différentes questions relatives au genre.

La création de ce forum a permis d'atteindre des résultats notables en matière d'accès aux instances de décisions pour les femmes, de protection des droits et de lutte contre les violences faites aux femmes et sur la santé de la mère et de l'enfant. On peut ainsi noter, par exemple, que la participation des femmes aux réunions communautaires est passée de 15% à 60%, que 23 femmes sont présidentes d'associations communautaires, une femme est adjointe au maire et deux autres sont chefs de village. Un autre résultat important obtenu est la mise en place d'une mutuelle de femmes pour la prise en charge des dépenses de santé lors de la grossesse et de l'accouchement. Toutes les femmes enceintes de cette mutuelle ont suivi les consultations prénatales et ont accouché au centre de santé.

"Avant quand ma femme ou l'un de mes enfants tombait malade, je ne m'en préoccupais pas trop. Je demandais à ma femme de chercher des tisanes pour soigner le mal. Mais un jour, j'ai suivi une séance de sensibilisation des membres d'Enoumama sur la santé de la mère et de l'enfant et cela a changé la façon dont je voyais les choses. C'est pourquoi aujourd'hui la bonne santé de ma femme et de mes enfants est aussi la mienne et j'assume cette responsabilité avec fierté. En plus, vu nos faibles revenus pour s'occuper des enfants, nous avons sollicité les services d'une sage-femme et avons adopté une méthode de planification familiale" témoigne un habitant d’Agatogbo, dans la commune de Comè.

 

She decides Bénin Droits de la femme Femmes
Article suivant Noël à la maternité